The Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM)

ny header

The Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM), a non-profit tax-exempt arts organization, is one of the oldest musicians associations in the United States. Since its founding in Chicago, Illinois in 1965, the organization’s members have developed a body of work that encompasses the spectrum of traditional and contemporary music.

The AACM New York Chapter, a non-profit tax-exempt entity was established in 1983. The New York Chapter functions as an ensemble of composers and performers whose mission is to present concerts that feature world premieres, which are composed by AACM members. To preserve the work of these great musicians, all AACM programs are documented for archival purposes.

AACM members who have been continuously featured in our programs include: Muhal Richard Abrams, Anthony Braxton, Roscoe Mitchell, Wadada Leo Smith, Henry Threadgill, Joseph Jarman, Thurman Barker, Frank Gordon, Adegoke Steve Colson, Iqua Colson, Amina Claudine Myers, George Lewis, Reggie Nicholson, Leonard Jones, Peggy Abrams, Richarda Abrams and posthumously Leroy Jenkins, Kalaparusha Ahra Difda, Lester Bowie, Steve McCall, Fred Anderson, John Stubblefield and Fred Hopkins. 

The AACM is significantly unique in that it has nurtured and brought to fruition so many accomplished composers and performers. These artists have achieved influence across borders of musical genre and geography to play a critical role in the ever evolving process of contemporary music creation and its vital importance throughout the world.

For more information, please visit